Veterans of Foreign Wars, Department of California Names Assemblyman Henry Perea Legislator of the Year

Posted by Nick Kump at Apr 11, 2012 12:07 PM |
4.11.12 Press Release

SACRAMENTO – The Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), Department of California, will name Assemblyman Henry Perea, D-Fresno, “Legislator of the Year” at its annual Legislative Day Reception on Wednesday, April 18.

“We are proud to recognize Assemblyman Perea this year,” said VFW, Dept. of California State Commander Bobby Price, “Assemblyman Perea has been instrumental in advancing veterans’ programs in California and we are pleased to recognize his hard work and achievements on behalf of the veterans of our state.”

Assemblyman Perea is being recognized for his authorship of AB 1422, Veterans Home Savings Act, which would allow the California Department of Veterans Affairs to use savings found in the operations of the Veterans Home of California System to expedite the delays in the opening of the Redding and Fresno Veterans Homes.

“The VFW has been advocating for veterans rights since WWI and having strong, reliable allies in the legislature is a key aspect of our mission,” said VFW, Dept. of California Legislative Chairman Bill Manes. “One of the highest priority legislative goals of the VFW Department of California is to obtain the necessary funds for staffing of the new State Veterans Homes in Redding and Fresno so that veterans can be admitted as residents – and Assemblyman Perea is working to make that goal a reality.”

Assemblyman Henry Perea was nominated for the VFW 2012 Legislator of the Year Award by District 11, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Department of California.  The nomination was approved by the Department Legislative Committee.  District 11 includes members of the VFW residing in the Counties of Fresno, Madera and Mariposa.

The VFW “Legislator of the Year” Award has been presented over the years to those members of the California State Legislature who have provided significant leadership roles on those issues involving benefits and services to the veterans of the nation’s military services. 

Current members of the Legislature who are previous recipients of the VFW Legislator of the Year Award include Assemblymen Paul Cook, Nathan Fletcher and William Monning, and Senators Lou Correa, Bob Dutton, Doug La Malfa, and Gloria Negrete McLeod.

The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. is a nonprofit veterans' service organization composed of combat veterans and those who currently serve on active duty or in the Guard and Reserves. Founded in 1899 and chartered by Congress in 1936, the VFW is the nation's largest organization of war veterans and is one of its oldest veterans' organizations. With 2.1 million members located in 7,700 VFW Posts worldwide, the VFW and its Auxiliaries are dedicated to "honor the dead by helping the living" through veterans service, legislative initiatives, youth scholarships, Buddy Poppy and national military service programs.  Annually, the VFW and its Auxiliaries contribute more than 11 million hours of community service to the nation.

Personal tools